About the 2017/18 János Sándor season ticket series

Wednesday, 6 September, 2017 - 12:03

Following the notoriously challenging symphonic poem entitled "Don Juan" by Richard Strauss there is a seldom played double bass concerto composed by Russian conductor/bass player/composer Serge Koussevitzky is scheduled to be performed by our very own principal bassist Sándor Budai at the opening concert of the János Sándor season ticket series.

Concluding the evenings program the Győr Philharmonic Orchestra will play symphony number 5 dubbed "Reformation" written by the great master of early romantic music, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, on comission of the Lutheran Church leaders at the time (1829) to commemorate the 500th anniversary of the Reformation (the Augsburg Confession) taken place in 1530 in the German Empire.

Budai Sándor


GYPO has in the past few years set a successful trend of performing gems of the opera literature. This time the company is to take to the Audi Arena one of the genre's most popular and famous masterpieces, the great Carmen by George Bizet. The orchestra will be joined by the National Choir and leading singers of international and Hungarian fame like mezzo soprano Olesya Petrova, and acclaimed tenor of the Hungarian Opera in Kolozsvár, Romania, Adorján Pataki. The monumental production is to be conducted by sought after Italian opera specialist Attilio Tomasello.

Pataki Adorján


The next episode of the series is called "Romeo and Juliet" and it consists of three beautiful pieces of music conducted by outstanding American conductor Alastair Willis. The concert will kick off with a symphonic poem called "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" inspired by one of Goethe's ballads and written by French composer Paul Dukas. It will be followed by the world premier of Levente Gyöngyösi's Flute Concerto comissioned by the Győr Phil and performed by flutist Gergely Ittzés. The evening's program is to end by the well-known orchestral suite version of the exquisite balet called "Romeo and Juliet" by Sergei Prokofiev.

Alaister Willis


Our ever-returning guest artist, Kobayashi Ken-Ichiro, this time around comes back to conduct an all-German program. First is the lovely Freischütz overture by Carl Maria von Weber, second is clarinetists' much cherished concerto by the same composer played by GYPO's Dániel Anderkó, and finally Beethoven's eternal 5th (Fate) symphony. 

Kobayashi Ken-Ichiro


You may purchase your tickets at Richter Hall's Ticket Office during opening hours (10am-5pm) or on the Internet (jegymester.hu).

See you at the shows!